1. Introduction
Quick Answer: Colorado Springs car insurance is priced off a statewide filing, so the sticker matches Denver’s. What does not match is the paycheck it comes out of, or the roads it has to cover. El Paso County issued 2,170 extreme speeding citations in 2024, more than the next three counties combined. Our insurance hub prices every policy type this way.
Most Colorado Springs rate pages open with a quote figure, compare it to the national average, and stop there. That skips the part that decides whether your policy actually holds up.
Colorado does not file a Colorado Springs rate. It files a Colorado rate. So the honest local question is not what the sticker says. It is what your money buys once El Paso County’s traffic gets involved, and what the state quietly adds to your policy that you can sign away without noticing.
This guide is for anyone garaging a car in El Paso County: a household off Powers Boulevard, an airman stationed at Peterson, a contractor running Highway 24 to Woodland Park. As always at DollarVisor, every figure traces to a named public source. Here is the traffic picture the premium is answering.
2. How much does Colorado Springs car insurance cost?
Quick Answer: Use $1,452.82 a year, or about $121 a month, as the honest budget anchor for Colorado Springs car insurance. That is Colorado’s average expenditure per insured vehicle in the NAIC’s 2023 filing data, $171.22 above the national $1,281.60. It is the same figure Denver drivers start from, on a household income roughly $9,900 lower.
Average expenditure is what drivers actually paid across a full year. It is not a quote-form guess made before the insurer had seen your record, which is why it beats an advertised starting price as a planning number.
Colorado Springs has a median household income of $84,818, per Census QuickFacts. Set the state premium against that income, then against four Mountain West cities we have already priced, and the ranking shifts.
| City | Median household income | State average expenditure | Share of income, one car | Weeks of income |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Las Vegas, NV | $73,877 | $1,461.47 |
1.98% |
1.03 |
| Colorado Springs, CO | $84,818 | $1,452.82 |
1.71% |
0.89 |
| Phoenix, AZ | $81,332 | $1,343.85 |
1.65% |
0.86 |
| Albuquerque, NM | $68,317 | $1,081.61 |
1.58% |
0.82 |
| Denver, CO | $94,718 | $1,452.82 |
1.53% |
0.80 |
Source: NAIC 2023 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement and US Census Bureau QuickFacts median household income, 2020–2024 five-year estimates in 2024 dollars. Shares and weeks calculated by DollarVisor.
Only Las Vegas gives up more of a paycheck than Colorado Springs on this list. Albuquerque pays $371 less a year and still lands below it on the ratio.
The line worth sitting with is the last one. Same state, same filing, same $1,452.82, and a Colorado Springs household hands over 11.7% more of its income for it than a Denver household does.
Want your own number instead of the state average?
Run your ZIP code, vehicle and coverage levels through our car insurance estimator → and compare the output to the table above.
3. Why does Colorado Springs pay Denver’s rate?
Quick Answer: Because Colorado regulates insurers at the state level, not the city level. The Division of Insurance reviews rate filings for adequacy but does not set rates in Colorado. Insurers then price your ZIP code, record and vehicle inside that filing, which is why two cities share one headline number.
The headline number is a state average. Your actual premium is built underneath it, and the pieces that move it are local:
- Your ZIP code. Claim frequency, theft and repair costs vary block to block across the city, and rating territories follow them.
- Your commute. Colorado Springs workers average a 22.7-minute one-way trip, per Census QuickFacts: shorter than most big-metro drivers, which helps.
- Your credit-based insurance score. Colorado allows it, and the Division lists a change in that score as a common reason premiums rise.
- Your record. Moving violations and at-fault crashes are the fastest way to leave the state average behind.
This is the same one-filing-per-state pattern we found pricing Phoenix and Tucson, where two Arizona cities also start from one number. Only the paycheck and the road risk change.
4. Which Colorado county speeds the most?
Quick Answer: El Paso County, by a wide margin. Colorado State Patrol troopers issued 14,477 citations statewide in 2024 for driving 20 to 40-plus mph over the limit. Of those, 2,170 were written in El Paso County: 15% of the state total, and 2.5 times the next county.
Speed is the variable that turns a repairable crash into an injury claim. That makes the citation map the most useful risk map a local driver can look at.
| County | Citations, 2024 | Share of state total | Multiple of El Paso |
|---|---|---|---|
| El Paso (Colorado Springs) | 2,170 | 15.0% | 1.00× |
| Douglas | 863 | 6.0% | 0.40× |
| Jefferson | 841 | 5.8% | 0.39× |
| Fremont | 730 | 5.0% | 0.34× |
| Mesa | 685 | 4.7% | 0.32× |
| All other counties | 9,188 | 63.5% | : |
Source: Colorado State Patrol 2024 citation data, as reported by KRDO, March 2025. Shares and multiples calculated by DollarVisor.
El Paso County has 2,170 of the state’s most serious speeding tickets against Douglas County’s 863. In Colorado, going 25 mph over the limit is a criminal misdemeanor carrying fines, court costs and possible jail time.
Two of the five roads where troopers wrote the most of these tickets, I-25 and Highway 24, run straight through Colorado Springs.
5. How dangerous were El Paso County roads in 2024?
Quick Answer: El Paso County recorded 78 traffic deaths and more than 450 serious bodily injuries in 2024: the second-highest combined toll of any Colorado county, per CDOT. Speed was a factor in 25 of those deaths. That injury volume is what your liability and medical coverage exists for.
Statewide, speed killed more Coloradans in 2024 than impaired driving or unbuckled crashes. Here is how El Paso County sits inside each of those totals.
| Measure | Colorado, 2024 | El Paso County | El Paso share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deaths by contributing factor | |||
| Speeding-related deaths | 237 | 25 | 10.5%: 2nd in state |
| Impaired-driving deaths | 215 | 24 | 11.2% as of 1 Nov 2024 |
| Unbuckled deaths | 189 | Not reported | : |
| Overall county toll | |||
| Total traffic deaths | Not stated | 78 | 2nd-highest county |
| Serious bodily injuries | Not stated | 450+ | 2nd-highest county |
| Speeding deaths, five-year | 1,274 | Not reported | : |
Source: Colorado Department of Transportation news release, 26 August 2025, covering 2024 fatality data. Shares calculated by DollarVisor. Blank cells are figures CDOT did not publish at county level.
The 450-plus serious injuries matter more to your policy than the 78 deaths do. Serious injuries generate the medical bills and liability claims that test whether your limits were set high enough.
Not sure your limits match that injury risk?
Our insurance coverage guides → walk through how far liability, medical payments and UM/UIM actually stretch in a real injury claim.
6. What car insurance does Colorado require?
Quick Answer: Colorado requires liability coverage of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident and $15,000 for property damage: written as 25/50/15. That is the legal floor, not a recommendation. Everything else in a Colorado Springs car insurance policy is optional by statute, including the coverage that protects you.
Read the minimum against El Paso County’s injury numbers and the gap is obvious. One hospital stay after a highway-speed crash can pass $25,000 on its own, and $50,000 is the ceiling for everyone hurt in the same accident.
Property damage sits at $15,000. Colorado Springs has a median owner-occupied home value of $452,600 and streets full of trucks and SUVs. Replacing a late-model pickup you hit can run past that limit before anyone is injured.
Minimum limits are how New York City drivers get caught out too: the legal floor was written decades ago and never indexed to what a crash costs now.
7. What does Colorado add unless you refuse it?
Quick Answer: Two coverages. Colorado law puts uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and $5,000 of medical payments coverage into your policy automatically, and both stay unless you reject them in writing. This is the single most useful thing to know before you shop Colorado Springs car insurance on price alone.
That opt-out design matters because the cheapest quotes often arrive with both already stripped out. Here is the default stack the state hands you.
| Coverage | Legal status in Colorado | What it pays | How you lose it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liability 25/50/15 | Mandatory | Other people’s injuries and property when you are at fault | You cannot: it is the legal floor |
| Uninsured/underinsured motorist | Automatic unless rejected | Your bodily injuries when the at-fault driver has no insurance, too little, or flees | A written rejection |
| Medical payments, $5,000 | Automatic unless rejected | Your and your passengers’ medical bills regardless of fault, ahead of health insurance | A written rejection |
| Collision | Optional; $100 or $250 deductible must be offered | Your own car after a crash or rollover | Simply not buying it |
| Comprehensive | Optional; usually required by lenders | Hail, theft, fire, vandalism, falling objects | Simply not buying it |
Source: Colorado Division of Insurance auto insurance guidance, compiled by DollarVisor, 2026.
The Division estimates 15% to 20% of Colorado drivers are uninsured. Nationally, the Insurance Research Council put one in three drivers uninsured or underinsured in 2023.
Put those odds next to 450-plus serious injuries a year in one county. Signing the UM/UIM rejection to save a few dollars a month is the most expensive small decision available to a Colorado Springs driver.
8. How can you cut a Colorado Springs car insurance bill?
Quick Answer: Move the deductible, not the coverage. The reliable savings on Colorado Springs car insurance come from three places: higher collision and comprehensive deductibles, bundled policies, and re-shopping every renewal. Never from rejecting UM/UIM or dropping medical payments to hit a monthly number.
Colorado publishes a free tool most drivers never open. The Division of Insurance runs an auto premium comparison report showing what licensed insurers charge sample drivers. It is a starting shortlist, built from filings rather than advertising.
The levers that actually work here:
- Raise the deductible before touching limits. Colorado insurers must offer $100 or $250 collision deductibles, but higher ones cut premium without shrinking what the policy pays a third party.
- Bundle home or renters with auto. The Division lists bundling first among discounts worth asking about.
- Ask about military and veteran pricing. Colorado Springs has 52,224 veterans, per Census QuickFacts, and several insurers price service members differently.
- Re-shop every renewal, and never let coverage lapse. Gaps raise your price and hurt your rating as an insured driver.
- Keep the credit-based insurance score clean. Colorado permits its use, so it moves your premium like a driving record does.
One caution specific to this city. If your car sits garaged for months during a deployment, tell your insurer rather than cancelling: a lapse costs more later than the storage months save.
9. Colorado Springs car insurance FAQ
Quick Answer: These five questions are what local drivers ask most about Colorado Springs car insurance. They cover the Denver comparison, the state minimum, whether UM/UIM is worth keeping, why your quote beats the state average, and how hail is handled. Every answer traces to a public source, and our insurance hub goes deeper on each one.
1. Is car insurance cheaper in Colorado Springs than Denver?
Not on the sticker. Both cities start from Colorado’s statewide average expenditure of $1,452.82 per insured vehicle in 2023. Your own premium can land lower or higher depending on ZIP code, record and vehicle. Measured against income, Colorado Springs is the more expensive of the two, because the median household earns about $9,900 less than Denver’s.
2. What is the minimum car insurance required in Colorado Springs?
The state minimum is 25/50/15: $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident, and $15,000 property damage. There is no separate Colorado Springs requirement. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and $5,000 medical payments coverage are added automatically unless you reject them in writing.
3. Do I need uninsured motorist coverage in Colorado?
It is not legally required, but the Colorado Division of Insurance estimates 15% to 20% of drivers are uninsured. With 450-plus serious injuries in El Paso County in 2024, UM/UIM is the coverage most likely to pay your own medical bills. Colorado includes it by default for that reason.
4. Why is my Colorado Springs car insurance quote higher than the state average?
The state average is a blend of every insured vehicle in Colorado. Your quote reflects your ZIP code, annual mileage, vehicle, claims history, moving violations and credit-based insurance score. Any one of those can move you well above $1,452.82 a year.
5. Does hail damage affect Colorado Springs car insurance?
Hail is covered by comprehensive coverage, not liability or collision. Comprehensive is optional in Colorado unless a lender requires it, and the Division names climate-related losses including hail among the reasons Colorado premiums rise. Dropping comprehensive on a paid-off car is a real saving with a real trade-off.
10. The verdict for Colorado Springs drivers
Quick Answer: Budget $1,453 a year, keep the coverages Colorado gives you by default, and take your savings from the deductible instead. That is the whole verdict on Colorado Springs car insurance, and the local crash data is what makes it the right call rather than the cautious one.
Colorado Springs does not have a rate problem. It has a ratio problem and a road problem, and only one of those shows up on a quote form.
The ratio problem is fixed. Denver’s premium on a smaller paycheck is a filing decision no shopper can appeal. The road problem is not fixed: 2,170 extreme speeding citations and 450-plus serious injuries in one county in one year are the odds your limits are being asked to cover.
So spend where the data points. Keep UM/UIM. Keep medical payments. Raise your deductible if the monthly number has to come down, and compare the whole policy rather than the headline price. Companies cannot pay for placement in our rankings, and no insurer paid to appear in this guide.
Not sure your Colorado Springs policy is built right?
Send us your declarations page. We will show you where your limits sit against El Paso County’s crash numbers, which coverages were rejected on your behalf, and what a safer policy would actually cost.
This article is information, not financial or insurance advice. Rates and coverage rules change: verify current figures with your insurer and the Colorado Division of Insurance before deciding. See our disclaimer.