1. Introduction
Quick Answer: Most pages answer “how much can you borrow with a personal loan” by repeating the lender’s advertised range. That range is marketing. DollarVisor shows the three ceilings underneath it and the arithmetic that sets each one. Our loans coverage is shown, not sold.
You have probably seen the banner: Borrow $1,000 to $100,000. True and useless at the same time. It describes what the lender will write in total, not what they will write for you.
Your real number is decided by three limits at once, and the smallest one wins. This page walks all three with real figures, so you can estimate your own ceiling before a lender pulls your file.
First, the regulator’s own explanation of the ratio that does most of the work.
2. The three ceilings that set your loan amount
Quick Answer: Three limits run at the same time and the lowest one becomes your offer: the lender’s product cap, the payment your income can carry, and the size your credit tier qualifies for. Our guide to what lenders check on a personal loan application covers the paperwork behind all three.
Three gates, not one. You pass all three, or you get the offer the tightest gate allows.
- The product cap. Every lender sets a hard maximum for the product. Nothing you do moves it. If a lender tops out at $40,000, a perfect application still gets $40,000.
- The income ceiling. Underwriting works out what payment your income can absorb on top of your existing debts, then works backward to a loan size.
- The credit ceiling. Your score tier decides which lenders will look at you, what rate you get, and how far up their range they will go. A thin file gets a small offer even on a strong income.
Most articles only describe the third gate, because a credit-score table is easy to write. In practice the income gate binds far more often, and the product cap quietly decides the rest.
Want to see the ranges lenders actually publish?
We list minimums, maximums and rate bands side by side, with no paid placement. Compare personal loan offers →
3. What Americans actually borrow
Quick Answer: The average open unsecured personal loan account held $8,493 in Q1 2026, and the average borrower owed $11,768 across all their loans. That is the honest average personal loan amount: roughly a twelfth of the headline maximum. Our personal loan comparison starts from those real figures.
The table below tracks four years of the same four measures. The market keeps growing; the typical account barely budges.
| Measure | Q1 2023 | Q1 2024 | Q1 2025 | Q1 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Average account balance | $8,356 | $8,737 | $8,496 | $8,493 |
| Average debt per borrower | $11,281 | $11,829 | $11,631 | $11,768 |
| Consumers with a personal loan | 22.4 million | 23.5 million | 24.6 million | 26.4 million |
| Total balances outstanding | $225 billion | $245 billion | $253 billion | $277 billion |
Source: TransUnion Q1 2026 Credit Industry Insights Report, US Consumer Credit Database.
Four million more Americans took out a personal loan over three years and total balances climbed $52 billion. The average account moved by $137: growth came from more borrowers, not bigger loans.
The market grew by $52 billion in three years. The typical loan grew by $137.
4. How much personal loan can I get on my income?
Quick Answer: Lenders cap your total monthly debt payments as a share of gross income, usually somewhere near 40%. Whatever room is left becomes your new payment, and that payment sets the loan size. Working out your debt-to-income ratio first tells you the answer before any lender does.
The CFPB defines debt-to-income as all your monthly debt payments divided by gross monthly income. Their own example: $2,000 of payments against $6,000 of income is 33%.
The model below assumes a 40% total ceiling with existing payments at 22% of gross, leaving 18% for a new loan. Loan sizes use the Federal Reserve’s average 24-month bank personal loan rate of 11.86% in May 2026, over five years.
| Annual income | Gross monthly | Room for a new payment | Loan that payment supports | Max loan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $36,000 | $3,000 | $540 | $24,350 | |
| $50,000 | $4,167 | $750 | $33,820 | |
| $70,000 | $5,833 | $1,050 | $47,350 | |
| $90,000 | $7,500 | $1,350 | $60,880 | |
| $120,000 | $10,000 | $1,800 | $81,180 |
Illustrative model by DollarVisor, 2026. Assumes a 40% total DTI ceiling, existing debt payments at 22% of gross income, and a 60-month loan at 11.86% APR.
The ceiling is roughly linear: every extra $1,000 of monthly income buys about $8,100 of borrowing room. Now look at the gap. Someone on $70,000 has room for $47,350 on paper, while the typical account holds $8,493. For most borrowers the income gate is not the binding one.
Run your own version of this table.
Put in a loan size, rate and term and read the payment off the schedule. Open the loan payoff calculator →
5. What your credit tier changes about the answer
Quick Answer: Your credit tier decides how much of a lender’s range you can reach. Lenders still approve below-prime borrowers, but control risk by shrinking the amount rather than refusing. Our breakdown of personal loan options from 550 to 800 shows where each tier lands.
TransUnion’s Q1 2026 data shows the market splitting. Super prime borrowers keep gaining ground while non-prime borrowers carry heavier payment loads.
| Credit tier | Share of consumers | Change since Q4 2019 | Non-mortgage DTI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prime and above | |||
| Super prime | 40.7% | +380 bps | 5.4% |
| Prime plus | 16.8% | −60 bps | Not reported |
| Prime | 15.6% | −160 bps | Not reported |
| Below prime | |||
| Near prime | 12.1% | −140 bps | 16.5% |
| Subprime | 14.8% | −30 bps | 14.3% |
Source: TransUnion Q1 2026 Credit Industry Insights Report. Non-mortgage DTI reported for super prime, near prime and subprime only.
A near-prime borrower carries roughly three times the non-mortgage payment burden of a super prime borrower. That eats the room a new loan needs, which is why the credit gate and the income gate usually close together. TransUnion also notes lenders kept serving subprime borrowers through 2025, but with smaller balances. Approval is not the hard part at the bottom of the range. Size is.
6. Where you apply moves the ceiling
Quick Answer: The same borrower gets different maximums at a bank, a credit union and an online lender, because each sets its own cap and rate rules. Federal credit unions work under a hard rate ceiling. See how credit union loan rates compare with banks before you pick a lane.
One rule is written in law, not policy. The NCUA Board extended the 18% loan rate ceiling for federal credit unions in February 2026, running to September 10, 2027. The statutory base is 15%, temporarily lifted.
That cap changes the shape of the offer. A lender who cannot price above 18% must decline risk it would otherwise price at 24% or 30%. So a credit union may give a mid-tier borrower a better rate and a bigger loan than an online lender, or decline where the online lender would approve a small, expensive one.
| Where you apply | What usually sets the ceiling |
|---|---|
| Your own bank | Relationship history and deposit records. Existing customers often see higher caps than walk-ins. |
| Federal credit union | The 18% rate ceiling. Generous to mid-tier credit, restrictive at the riskiest end. |
| Online lender | Their own credit model and published product maximum. Wider range, wider pricing. |
| Secured or co-signed | The collateral value or the co-signer’s income and credit, not just yours. |
7. The amount you qualify for is not the amount to take
Quick Answer: Borrowing your full approval maximizes the lender’s interest, not your outcome. Take what your purpose needs, then check whether paying the loan off early is realistic on that size. A smaller loan clears faster and costs less.
Run the model at $70,000 of income. The ceiling is $47,350. Over five years at 11.86% that loan costs about $15,650 in interest. Borrow $15,000 for the thing you actually needed and the interest falls to roughly $4,960.
Same borrower, same rate, same term. The only variable is restraint, and it is worth about $10,700.
Three habits keep the number honest:
- Price the purpose first. Get the quote, the invoice or the payoff figure before you get the loan. Round up 10% for surprises, not 100%.
- Convert the loan into a payment. A $30,000 loan is a $665 monthly commitment for five years. Decide on the payment, not the lump sum.
- Refuse the upsell. Lenders routinely approve more than you request. Treat that as a sales offer.
Not sure a loan is the right tool at all?
Every borrowing route with its real cost, from cards to home equity. See every borrowing option compared →
8. Where personal loan balances run highest
Quick Answer: Average personal loan balances range from about $10,400 in the District of Columbia to $28,366 in Washington state, a threefold spread driven mostly by state lending laws and loan mix. What people borrow for varies too, as our guide to what a personal loan can be used for shows.
The national average balance was $19,333 as of September 2025, up 1.7% on the year.
| State | Average balance | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Washington | $28,366 | |
| Oregon | $27,165 | |
| South Dakota | $25,174 | |
| National average | $19,333 | |
| Georgia | $13,131 | |
| Hawaii | $12,562 | |
| District of Columbia | $10,400 |
Source: Experian personal loan study, September 2025 data.
Two forces drive the spread. Northern and Pacific Northwest states carry more large secured personal loans, which lifts the average, while states with tighter lending laws such as New York and Illinois cap rates in ways that keep the priciest loans off the market. Your state does not set your ceiling, but it tells you what normal looks like where you live.
9. How to raise the number you can borrow
Quick Answer: Cutting an existing monthly payment lifts your ceiling faster than anything else, because it frees DTI room immediately. Co-signers, documented side income and clean report errors help too. Knowing why loan applications get denied tells you which lever to pull first.
Ranked by speed and effect:
- Clear a small installment debt. Killing a $250 payment frees about $11,300 of borrowing room. Nothing else works this fast.
- Pay revolving balances down. Lower card balances cut your minimum payments and your utilization, so both gates widen together.
- Document all your income. Bonus, freelance and rental income only counts if you can evidence it, usually with two years of returns.
- Add a co-signer or collateral. This changes whose file is judged, the only lever that moves a hard product cap.
- Fix errors on your report first. A disputed collection or a duplicate account can drop you a tier for no real reason.
One caution on term length. Sixty months buys a bigger loan for the same payment than thirty-six does, and a much larger interest bill with it. If you are comparing offers by monthly payment alone, read how APR differs from the interest rate first.
10. Estimate your own ceiling in five steps
Quick Answer: Work out your DTI room, convert it to a loan size, then check it against your credit tier and the lender’s cap. Ten minutes with a bank statement. If the number lands lower than you need, a personal line of credit may fit better than a lump-sum loan.
- Add up your monthly debt payments. Rent or mortgage, car, cards, student loans, anything with a due date. Use minimums, not what you usually pay.
- Find your gross monthly income. Before tax and deductions, matching how lenders read it.
- Work out your room. Multiply gross income by 0.40, then subtract step one. What remains is the payment a lender will likely allow.
- Convert the payment into a loan. At about 12% over five years, multiply the payment by roughly 45. A $500 payment supports about $22,500.
- Check it against your tier and the lender’s cap. Whichever of the three ceilings is lowest is your real answer.
Then apply with a specific number in mind. Asking for what you need rather than the maximum you might get gives underwriting less to argue with, and keeps the credit impact of a personal loan smaller.
11. Conclusion
Quick Answer: How much can you borrow with a personal loan comes down to the lowest of three ceilings: the product cap, your income room, and your credit tier. Most Americans land far below all three, at an average open balance of $8,493.
The advertised range was never about you. Work out your income room first, because that is the gate you control, then check it against your tier and the lender’s published maximum.
And once you know the ceiling, ignore it. The right loan covers the purpose and clears fast. If the debt you are consolidating is spread across several balances, the snowball versus avalanche comparison is the better place to start.
12. Frequently asked questions
What is the maximum personal loan amount you can get?
Most US lenders publish a maximum between $35,000 and $100,000, and a few go higher. Reaching the top of any range needs strong credit, verified income and low existing debt at once. In practice the average open personal loan account holds $8,493, so very few borrowers get near the headline number.
How much personal loan can I get with a $50,000 salary?
On a 40% total debt-to-income ceiling with existing payments at 22% of gross income, a $50,000 salary leaves about $750 a month for a new payment. At 11.86% over five years that supports roughly $33,800. Your credit tier, the lender’s cap, or heavier existing debt can all reduce it.
Does asking for a smaller loan improve your approval odds?
Usually, yes. A smaller amount means a smaller monthly payment, which keeps your debt-to-income ratio inside the lender’s limit. It also cuts the lender’s exposure. If a lender declines, asking again for a lower amount is often the fastest route to an approval.
Can you get a personal loan with a high debt-to-income ratio?
Sometimes, but the amount shrinks and the rate rises. Lenders manage risk by cutting loan size rather than refusing outright, which is what TransUnion observed among subprime borrowers through 2025. Clearing one existing payment before you apply usually does more than shopping extra lenders.
Do lenders verify your income for a personal loan?
Almost always. Expect to supply pay stubs, W-2s, tax returns or bank statements, and expect self-employed income to need two years of history. Stated income without documents is rare. Income you cannot evidence does not count toward the ratio that sets your ceiling.
Know your number before a lender tells you.
We compare rates, caps and terms with state-level numbers and no paid placement, so the ranking is the math, not the advertising.
This article is information, not financial advice. Figures are accurate as of August 2026 and change with market rates. See our disclaimer.